

New Mexico Boards Association

300 Galisteo Street, Suite 204 Santa Fe, New Mexico 87501

Phone: (505) 983-5041 ☐ Fax: (505) 983-2450 E-mail: nmsba@nmsba.org ☐ website: www.nmsba.org

NEWS RELEASE

For Immediate Release: June 7, 2021

School Boards and Administrators Attend School Law Conference Region Attendance, Master Board and Student Scholarship Awards Announced

Approximately 400 school board members and education leaders from across the state attended the New Mexico School Boards Association (NMSBA) 2021 Virtual School Law Conference June 3-5. The conference focused on the latest legal issues facing public education in New Mexico. The conference general and breakouts sessions informed school board members and school administrators on many key issues including school safety, new legislative initiatives, student testing, special education, procurement and employee evaluations to name a few.

Region Attendance Awards

NMSBA took the opportunity at the conference to present the 2020-2021 Region Meeting Attendance Awards to ten outstanding school boards that excelled in attendance and training at the Fall-2019 and Spring-2021 Region School Board Meetings. Award recipients are:

o Region I Zuni Board of Education

O Region II (Tie) Chama and Cuba Boards of Education

Region III Maxwell Board of Education

O Region IV (Tie) Socorro and Los Lunas Boards of Education

Region V
 Region VI
 Region VII
 Region VII
 Region VIII
 Silver Board of Education
 Silver Board of Education

Master School Board Member Award

At the conference, Christine Ludi, NMSBA Secretary Treasurer and member of the West Las Vegas Board of Education, was recognized and presented with the highest leadership development award presented by NMSBA, the Master School Board Member Award. The Master Board Member Award is presented to highly skilled, knowledgeable and experienced school board leaders who have mastered the best practices of school board governance and are committed to share their expertise by serving as resources, mentors and role models for all school board members in New Mexico.

Student Scholarship Awards

NMSBA's also announced the award of their 2021 Scholarships to twenty-four outstanding high school graduating seniors at the School Law Conference. Each student will receive a \$1,000 scholarship to further their higher education. Nominations were received from New Mexico's boards of education and selections are based on criteria including demonstrated leadership, academic performance, community involvement and extracurricular activities. The 2021 Scholarship Award Recipients are:

Region I
Aztec – Sierra Villanueva
Bloomfield – Monica Perez
Central – Elena Hardy

Region II
Cuba – Victoria Crespin
Los Alamos – Audrey Nolen
Mesa Vista – Mia Pena

Region III

Des Moines - Natashia McDonald Wagon Mound – Elias Armijo West Las Vegas - Briana Marquez

Region IV

Belen – Tonya Madrid Los Lunas – Aracely Ramirez Rio Rancho – Allison Sego

Region V

House - Evelyn Garrett Melrose - Christopher Sorgen Texico - Riley Rohrbach Region VI

Dexter – Zenaida Levario Eunice – Arissa Frazier Roswell – Gwendolyn Keller

Region VII

Alamogordo - Gabriella Sandoval Cloudcroft – Ashlynn Keel T or C – Verrels Eugeneo

Region VIII

Cobre – Alex Albers

Lordsburg - Vanessa Montoya Quemado – Clarisa Martinez

In addition to this news release, each of the twenty-four successful recipients will be honored at an upcoming local school board meeting.

The 2021 NMSBA Scholarship Recipient Flyer is attached and individual photos are available upon request. Also attached is the NMSBA Region Map for easy reference.

For additional information please contact Joe Guillen, NMSBA Executive Director or Lorraine Vigil, NMSBA Programs Director at (505) 983-5041.

New Mexico School Boards Association **2021 SCHOLARSHIP RECIPIENTS**



The purpose of the NMSBA Scholarship program is to promote the attainment of higher educational goals for students who have demonstrated a high level of leadership, academic achievement, com**munity** involvement and extracurricular activity participation during high school.

Each NMSBA Board of Education was eligible to nominate one graduating senior for scholarship consideration

Region officers served as the selection committee for their respective region.

Twenty-Four \$1,000 scholarships will be distributed.

Scholarship funds may be utilized to pay tuition, fees, books, or other education related expenses.





Sierra Villanueva Region I - Aztec



Monica Perez Region I - Bloomfield



Elena Hardy Region I - Central



Victoria Crespin Region II - Cuba



Audrey Nolen Region II - Los Alamos



Mia Pena Region II - Mesa Vista



Natasha McDonald Region III - Des Moines



Elias Armijo Region III - Wagon Mound Region III - West Las Vegas



Briana Marquez



Tony Madrid Region IV - Belen



Aracely Ramirez Region IV - Los Lunas



Allison Sego Region IV - Rio Rancho



Evelyn Garrett Region V - House



Christopher Sorgen Region V - Melrose



Riley Rohrbach Region V - Texico



Zenaida Levario



Arissa Frazier Region VI - Eunice



Gwendolyn Keller Region VI - Roswell



Gabriella Sandoval Region VII - Alamogordo



Ashlynn Keel Region VII - Cloudcroft



Verrels Eugeneo Region VII - T or C



Alex Albers Region VIII - Cobre



Vanessa Montoya Region VIII - Lordsburg



Clarisa Martinez Region VIII - Quemado

New Mexico School Board Association Region Map



