NEW MEXICO PUBLIC REGULATION COMMISSION

COMMISSIONERS

DISTRICT 1 CYNTHIA B. HALL
DISTRICT 2 JEFFERSON L. BYRD
DISTRICT 3 JOSEPH MAESTAS

DISTRICT 4 THERESA BECENTI-AGUILAR

DISTRICT 5 STEPHEN FISCHMANN



P.O. Box 1269 Santa Fe, NM 87504-1269

> CHIEF OF STAFF Wayne Propst

Contact: Sarah E. Valencia, PIO (505) 490-7910

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

NEW MEXICO PUBLIC REGULATION COMMISSION NAMES A NEW CHAIR AND VICE CHAIR TODAY

(SANTA FE, NM – DEC 2) – The New Mexico Public Regulation Commission (PRC) voted at Wednesday's Open Meeting on a new chair and vice-chair for the Commission for 2022.

In a novel and collaborative approach to the upcoming year, two commissioners will share the jobs of chair and vice-chair of the Commission, effective January 1, 2022.

District Three Commissioner Joseph Maestas will assume the role of chair for the PRC for six months, with Commissioner Cynthia Hall of District One taking on the role of vice-chair. After six months, the Commissioners will switch roles, making Commissioner Cynthia Hall the chair and Commissioner Joseph Maestas will become the vice-chair.

Both commissioners highlighted that 2022 promises to be a landmark year, not only with regulatory matters before the Commission, but also because it is the last year before the PRC transitions from a five-member elected Commission to a three-member Commission appointed by the governor.

The New Mexico Public Regulation Commission (PRC) regulates the <u>utilities</u>, <u>telecommunications</u>, and <u>motor carrier</u> industries to ensure fair and reasonable rates, and to assure reasonable and adequate services to the public as provided by law.

The PRC also promotes public safety through the offices of <u>Pipeline Safety Bureau</u> and the <u>Transportation Division</u>.