## NEW MEXICO PUBLIC REGULATION COMMISSION

## **COMMISSIONERS**

DISTRICT 1 CYNTHIA B. HALLDISTRICT 2 JEFFERSON L. BYRDDISTRICT 3 JOSEPH MAESTASDISTRICT 4 THERESA BECENTI-AGUILARDISTRICT 5 STEPHEN FISCHMANN



P.O. Box 1269 Santa Fe, NM 87504-1269

> CHIEF OF STAFF Wayne Propst

*Contact:* Sarah E. Valencia, PIO (505) 490-7910

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

## NEW MEXICO PUBLIC REGULATION COMMISSION RECEIVES INDUSTRY RECOGNITION FOR ALL THE RIGHT REASONS

(SANTA FE, NM – DECEMBER 28) – The New Mexico Public Regulation Commission (PRC) received industry recognition from E9 Insight as one of the eight state regulatory commissions to watch in 2022. E9 Insight is an information service that focuses on regulatory actions and clean energy technology in the electric utility industry.

Hailed for taking action in 2021 to meet the Energy Transition Act net-zero goal by 2045, the PRC has a number of rulemakings in progress to address new or existing rules on community solar programs, grid modernization and necessary updates, interconnection, and integrated resource plans. Enhancing the state's broadband services in rural communities and making clean energy accessible to individuals and communities with lower incomes are among the initiatives that are underway. In addition, recently approved transportation electrification plans from the three investor-owned utilities in the state are set to alter the landscape of driving throughout New Mexico in 2022 and future years.

Commissioners agree that 2022 will be a busy year for the PRC, with a number of significant issues to consider, new programs to implement, and business to complete prior to the PRC's transition from a five-member elected Commission to the three-member appointed Commission, beginning in 2023.

*The New Mexico Public Regulation Commission (PRC) regulates the <u>utilities, telecommunications, and motor carrier</u> <i>industries to ensure fair and reasonable rates, and to assure reasonable and adequate services to the public as provided by law.* 

*The NMPRC also promotes public safety through the offices of <u>Pipeline Safety Bureau</u> and the <u>Transportation Division</u>.*