news releases

New Mexico HB 211/SB 199 Call for Seven-Member Independent Redistricting Commission


Commission would include two Democrats, two Republicans, and two independents; Bills has bipartisan support in House and Senate; Commission’s goal to improve transparency and maximize voter participation

SANTA FE, N.M. – House Bill 211 and Senate Bill 199 have been introduced by Representatives Rebecca Dow (R-38), Kelly Fajardo (R-7), Natalie Figeroa (D-30,) Joy Garratt (D-29), and Georgene Louis (D-26); and Senators Mark Moores (R-21) and Jerry Ortiz y Pino (D-12) to establish an independent, seven-member commission to draw redistricting maps for U.S. Congress, the state Legislature, and the state Public Education Commission. The bills were drafted by retired state Supreme Court Chief Justice Edward Chavez and retired state Court of Appeals Chief Judge Roderick Kennedy.

More Releases

The New Mexico News Network is a service of the New Mexico Broadcasters Association. 

Latest News

Latest Releases