

## SIX REPUBLICAN CANDIDATES EXPRESS INTEREST IN 1<sup>ST</sup> CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICT SEAT

**Albuquerque, February 3**—A half a dozen people have contacted the Republican Party of New Mexico to say they want to represent New Mexico's 1<sup>st</sup> Congressional District in Washington. The 134 members of RPNM's State Central Committee from CD-1 will eventually elect the party's Congressional nominee.

At this time the following people have announced they're running for the 1<sup>st</sup> Congressional District seat:

Eddy Aragon Albuquerque

Peggy Muller Aragon Albuquerque

Michaela Chavez Albuquerque

Michelle Garcia Holmes Bernalillo

Ronnie Lucero Albuquerque

Jared Vander Dussen Albuquerque There is no deadline for submitting names until a vacancy is announced. Any interested candidates may contact Nike Kern, RPNM's Executive Director, at <u>Nike@gopnm.org</u>.

If Rep. Deb Haaland is confirmed by the U.S. Senate to become Interior Secretary, she would resign, leaving her seat vacant. New Mexico's Secretary of State would then call a special election no later than 91 days after it is vacated.

New Mexico's 1<sup>st</sup> Congressional District includes nearly three-fourths of Albuquerque, most of Bernalillo County, Torrance County and sections of Santa Fe, Sandoval and Valencia Counties.