NEW MEXICO PUBLIC REGULATION COMMISSION

COMMISSIONERS

DISTRICT 1 CYNTHIA B. HALL
DISTRICT 2 JEFFERSON L. BYRD
DISTRICT 3 JOSEPH MAESTAS

DISTRICT 4 THERESA BECENTI-AGUILAR

DISTRICT 5 STEPHEN FISCHMANN



P.O. Box 1269 Santa Fe, NM 87504-1269

> CHIEF OF STAFF Wayne Propst

Contact: Sarah E. Valencia, PIO (505) 490-7910

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

NEW MEXICO PUBLIC REGULATION COMMISSION PRESENTS A PUBLIC WORKSHOP ON RESIDENTIAL UTILITY ARREARAGES

(SANTA FE, NM—APRIL 27) — The New Mexico Public Regulation Commission's prohibition on disconnections by small water and gas utilities and electric cooperatives is set to expire on May 5, 2021. The Commission will hold a public workshop to collaboratively work with these utilities, ratepayers and other stakeholders to assess the current status of residential customer arrearages and determine the parameters of any further Commission action in case 20-00205-UT via Zoom on Thursday, April 29, 2021, at 9:30 a.m.

The workshop shall permit utilities, customers, and other stakeholders to make a public comment, limited to three (3) minutes in duration, and limited to one (1) speaker per entity, unless extended by the Chair of the Commission.

To sign up to participate in this workshop, please contact <u>isaac.sullivan-leshin@state.nm.us</u> or (505) 670-4830 no later than 5:00 p.m. on Wednesday, April 28, 2021. Zoom information for the workshop will only be provided to individuals who sign up. This Zoom workshop will also be accessible to the public via livestream on YouTube. A link to the livestream will be posted on our website at <u>www.nmprc.state.nm.us</u> several minutes before the start of the workshop.

The New Mexico Public Regulation Commission (NMPRC) regulates the <u>utilities</u>, <u>telecommunications</u>, and <u>motor carrier</u> industries to ensure fair and reasonable rates, and to assure reasonable and adequate services to the public as provided by law.

The NMPRC also promotes public safety through the offices of <u>State Fire Marshal</u>, the <u>Firefighter Training Academy</u>, <u>Pipeline Safety Bureau</u> and <u>Transportation Division</u>.