## NEW MEXICO PRC NOMINATING COMMITTEE

## **COMMITTEE MEMBERS**

BRIAN EGOLF, CHAIR
ALONZO BALDONADO, SECRETARY
RON LOVATO
RIKKI SEGUIN
CYDNEY BEADLES
WILLIAM BRANCARD
DENISE RAMONAS



P.O. Box 1269 Santa Fe, NM 87504-1269

> CHIEF OF STAFF Wayne Propst

*Media Contact:* Patrick Rodriguez, PIO (505) 490-7910

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

October 25, 2022

## PRC Nominating Committee conducts first set of interviews with Commissioner candidates

SANTA FE, N.M. — The New Mexico Public Regulation Commission (PRC) Nominating Committee today conducted its first set of interviews with applicants for the position of Commissioner, meeting with H. Ward Camp (Independent from Bernalillo County), Kenneth Costello (Independent from Santa Fe County), Cynthia B. Hall (Democrat from Bernalillo County), and Arthur O'Donnell (Independent from Bernalillo County). The Committee will continue to interview applicants during its next two regular meetings on November 7 and November 8, before making its final recommendations to Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham on November 14.

The bipartisan Nominating Committee is tasked with evaluating applicants to fill vacancies on the Commission, which will transition from an elected body to an executive-appointed panel to begin staggered six-year terms on January 1, 2023. For the next class of Commissioners, the Committee will recommend five candidates to Governor Lujan Grisham, who will then appoint three of them to serve on the new Commission, subject to approval by the state Senate.

The Nominating Committee's list of recommended candidates must include applicants from at least three different counties in New Mexico. The new Commission may not include more than two members from the same political party.

The remaining applicants (with political affiliation and county/state of residence) scheduled to interview with the Nominating Committee on either November 7 or November 8 are as follows:

- Gabriel Aguilera, Democrat, Washington, D.C.
- Amy L. Stein, Democrat, Bernalillo County

- Carolyn Glick, Independent, Santa Fe County
- Cholla Khoury, Democrat, Bernalillo County
- Glen Lyons, Independent, Texas
- Jeffrey Peace, Republican, San Juan County
- Joseph Little, Democrat, Bernalillo County
- Patrick O'Connell, Democrat, Bernalillo County
- Scott Karns, Republican, Santa Fe County
- James Ellison, Independent, Bernalillo County
- Brian Moore, Republican, Union County

The Commission is both the governing body for the PRC as well as a policy and regulatory body. The Commission's duties include setting rates, creating policy that implements statutory mandates and policy goals, and enforcing rules and regulations governing regulated entities. A principal function of the Commission is to adjudicate cases involving regulated entities.

Nominating Committee meetings take place in Room 309 at the State Capitol and are also available for viewing online on the New Mexico Legislature website. Public comment from stakeholders, including private citizens, is highly encouraged. For more information about the Committee, including profiles of candidates, visit <a href="https://www.nm-prc.org/nominating-committee/">https://www.nm-prc.org/nominating-committee/</a>.

Who: Public Regulation Commission Nominating Committee

What: Regular Committee Meeting

When: November 7, and November 8 at 9:00 a.m. MDT

Where: Room 309, New Mexico State Capitol, 490 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501; online via

https://nmlegis.gov/

**Public Comment:** To sign up for public comment, please email patrickj.rodriguez@prc.nm.gov

The New Mexico Public Regulation Commission (NMPRC) regulates the <u>utilities</u>, <u>telecommunications</u>, and <u>motor carrier</u> industries to ensure fair and reasonable rates, and to assure reasonable and adequate services to the public as provided by law. The NMPRC also promotes public safety through the offices of <u>Pipeline Safety Bureau</u> and <u>Transportation Division</u>.